Maggie VanceComment

My Favorite Sustainable Fashion Resources 

Maggie VanceComment
My Favorite Sustainable Fashion Resources 
Hand printed Hmong cloth, Vietman

Hand printed Hmong cloth, Vietman

Hand printed Hmong cloth, Vietman

Hand printed Hmong cloth, Vietman

My Favorite Sustainable Fashion Resources 

Lately I have been getting quite a few questions about what sustainable fashion is.  My answer: a multifaceted cause.  It’s broad, it’s narrow, it’s green washed, it’s a philosophy that is upheld.  It’s minimal and excessive, it’s personal yet global, it’s approachable and confusing.  It is a shift in culture and our thinking.

I have strived to use my blog as a platform to tell the whole story of sustainable fashion.  Along the way, I have been learning and growing too.  I am always finding new facets or the latest articles, yet I rely on my frequented websites and organizations for updates and reminders.  I want to share with you some of my favorite resources for education, shopping, and styling, as well as the websites of movers and makers in sustainable fashion. Please comment below if there is a resource that you rely on.  I would love to know about it!

Education

Organizations

Fashion Revolution - http://fashionrevolution.org/

Green Peace - http://www.greenpeace.org/international/en/campaigns/detox/

Fair Trade Federation - http://www.fairtradefederation.org/

The Good Trade - http://www.thegoodtrade.com/

The Story of Stuff - http://storyofstuff.org/

Craftsy - https://www.craftsy.com/

Noir Tribe - http://noirtribe.com/

Books

Wear No Evil - https://www.amazon.com/Wear-No-Evil-Change-Wardrobe/dp/0762451270/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1497972760&sr=1-1&keywords=wear+no+evil

My Big Green Purse - http://www.biggreenpurse.com/

Slow Fashion - https://www.amazon.com/Slow-Fashion-Aesthetics-Meets-Ethics/dp/1780262833/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1497972650&sr=8-1&keywords=slow+fashion

How to Start a Home-based Fashion Design Business - https://www.amazon.com/Home-based-Fashion-Design-Business-Home-Based/dp/0762778776/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1497972682&sr=8-1&keywords=how+to+start+a+home-based+fashion+design+business

Articles 

Patagonia - http://www.patagonia.com/blog/2016/06/what-do-we-know-about-tiny-plastic-fibers-in-the-ocean/

http://www.patagonia.com/blog/2017/02/an-update-on-microfiber-pollution/

NYT - https://www.nytimes.com/2017/05/24/climate/eco-friendly-organic-clothing.html

 

Shopping

The Good Trade - http://www.thegoodtrade.com/

Patagonia - http://www.patagonia.com/home/

DL1961 - https://www.dl1961.com/

Fisher Found - https://www.eileenfisher.com/fisherfound

People Tree - http://www.peopletree.co.uk/

Pact Organic - https://wearpact.com/

Noonday Collection - http://www.noondaycollection.com/pws/homeoffice/tabs/home.aspx

Nisolo - https://nisolo.com/

Cynthia Ashby - https://www.cynthiaashby.com/

Grizas - http://grizas.com/

Suki and Solaine - https://sukiandsolaine.com/

Beta Brand - https://www.betabrand.com/

Goodwill/ Thrift!

 

Styling

Pinterest - https://www.pinterest.com/

The Curated Closet - https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01A4B2JHG/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1

Un-Fancy - http://www.un-fancy.com/

 

Movers and Makers

Kelly McKaig - http://www.kellymckaig.com/

Cara Piazza - http://www.caramariepiazza.com/

India Flint - http://www.indiaflint.com/

Lydia Higginson - http://mademywardrobe.com/about

Fashion Revolution Hulternative

Kate Garman - http://kategarman.com/

Frau Fiber - https://sewingrebellion.wordpress.com/

Maryanne Fairbanks - https://www.mariannefairbanks.com/

 

Hand printed Hmong cloth, Vietman

Hand printed Hmong cloth, Vietman

Hand woven Krama, Cambodia. 

Hand woven Krama, Cambodia. 

Hand woven silk, Thailand 

Hand woven silk, Thailand